56 Stories in 56 Days – The Naval Treaty

Well, I don’t know if it’s because it’s wages day again and my brain is too full of figures and pay-rates, but I can’t think of much to say about this one, writes Charlotte Anne Walters.

I’m sure there are many Holmesian scholars who could write pages about this story; a neat little tale which involves a naval treaty that is stolen from the foreign office by the soon-to-be brother-in-law of an old school friend of Watson’s who works there.  I guess this is one of those times when I think to myself, – ‘What are you doing? Who are you to write a blog about Sherlock Homes when you are not exactly an expert, just an ordinary admirer who has always enjoyed reading the stories?  Is that really enough to qualify you for this task?’

But then husband comes to the rescue and reminds me that I have written a very well researched novel involving Holmes and couldn’t possibly have got this far with my blogging adventure if I didn’t know at least a little bit of what I was talking about.

This is very nice of him, though a little biased, but still doesn’t help me think of much to say about the Naval Treaty except that it is rather long (like my day has been) for a short story and Holmes does an excellent job of wrapping things up when all seems hopeless.  And, it is another case which Watson brings to him, like with the Engineer’s Thumb, making him more than just a passive observer.  Oh, and there is the mention of Watson’s moustache which is interesting because I couldn’t remember there ever being one in the original stories and have therefore often wondered why people always portray him has having one.  Well, now I know.

In my own my own novel, I have left it up to the reader’s imagination by not stating either way about the good doctor’s facial hair.  In my mind’s eye I pictured him as clean-shaven most of the time while writing it, and then seeing Jude Law with a ‘tash was enough to seal the deal – sorry Jude, no offense intended.

Nothing wrong with the story at all really, it just didn’t have enough about it to fully drag my mind away from a hard day at work.  5 out of 10.

About barefootonbakerstreet

Author from Shropshire
This entry was posted in 56 Sherlock Holmes stories in 56 days. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

