Have we seen this Sherlock somewhere before?

That coat?  That scarf?  Look familiar at all?

I’ve just seen a picture from the pilot of CBS’s new Sherlock Holmes series, Elementary.  And it’s hard to miss the similarities with BBC Sherlock.  Jonny Lee Miller, as Holmes, is standing there wearing an overcoat with a big collar and lapels complete with colourful scarf jauntily knotted around his neck.  Replace his face with Benedict Cumberbatch and you’ve got a near-perfect match for Sherlock.

Yes, I do understand that there is plenty of room in TV land for many interpretations of this iconic character but I still feel like the BBC’s version, penned by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss, has been a little ripped off here.  Still, early reviews of Elementary seem to be good and it will be interesting to see how Holmes fans around the world react to the series.  It will certainly raise interest in Sherlock Holmes ever higher, and this can only be good for authors like me.  Time will tell . . .

About barefootonbakerstreet

Author from Shropshire
This entry was posted in Sherlock Holmes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Have we seen this Sherlock somewhere before?

  1. Erich says:

    Ridiculous. We don’t need another new Sherlock Holmes TV series set in modern day when we already have one. I think CBS is wrong for trying.

  2. Ennui says:

    There are many interpretations of Sherlock Holmes in books. Why not TV series? That being said, I admit I am biased toward British style film making. I tend to prefer less emphasis on fight and action scenes and more screen time to develop the background and the characters.

  3. C_MO says:

    Go figure the US Sherlock looks like a beef cake wanna be, there isn’t the least bit of sherlock in his appearance. Look at the new Sherlock or Jeremy Brett they had/have a look that speaks to you sayong yup thats Sherlock. This US version looks more like a sunny crocket jr from miami vice 2012. his face his expressions just do not exude Sherlock. Epic Fail starting with casting.

    As for me Jeremy Brett is the ultimate Holmes with Benedict Cumberbatch running a comfortable second. Both do Doyle’s work honor.

  4. Even though I am not too keen about yet another version (particularly after there is such brilliance with the BBC), I will reserve final remarks till the pilot is viewed. That said, Yes indeed he looks familiar, but I would say the familiarity comes from a cross between the WB Holmes and BBC’s Sherlock. JLM is just a bit too scruffy for BC’s (and the canon’s) Holmes with a small five o’ clock shadow, and resembles more of RDJ’s incarnation even though the coat and scarf are somewhat akin to the modern London Sherlock. Now maybe if Warner Bros. and BBC Holmes’ were to have a child, then maybe he’d look like that. 😉

  5. Taimore says:

    They shouldn’t do an interpretation of Sherlock by culture & timeline. The guys at BBC were smart enough to have a genuine Sherlock feel with their version. But I suspect the American Sherlock will fall prey to network ratings & would derail from the already established high standards for this iconic character.

  6. Rachel says:

    Everyone always talks about portrayals of Holmes, understandably of course, but what I find more interesting is the choice to make Watson a woman. I mean, to me that decision harbors the greatest potential for self-destruction. As a woman myself, I find it highly improbable that this bright idea will do anything but ruin the classic Holmesian dynamic. And while I place Brett just a hair above Cumberbatch upon the pedestal of “Best Sherlock Holmes,” Freeman far and away holds my personal title for “Best Dr. John Watson.” The duo of BC and MF is the reason why “Sherlock” is, and will for the foreseeable future be, my favorite rendition. And I haven’t even set foot in the topic of Moriarty!

Leave a Reply

